Official Nebraska Government Website

Residential Journeyman Wireman, (RW)

Qualifications

An applicant for a residential journeyman electrician license shall:

  1. Have at least three years experience, acceptable to the board, in the electrical trade.
  2. Registration as an apprentice electrician for those years shall, on the approval of the board, constitute evidence of such experience. (Please refer to 81-2113 of the Nebraska State Electrical Act for further requirements.)
    1. The board may by rule or regulation provide for the allowance of one year of experience credit for successful completion of a two-year post-high school electrical course approved by the board.
  3. A residential journeyman electrician license shall be valid only for residential installations.

Examination Fee / $60

License Fee - The fee for a license issued in:

  • Even numbered year - $25.00
  • Odd numbered year - $50.00

Mail-in Registration Form PDF File

 

Note: Residential installations are defined as: “An installation intended for a single-family or two-family residential dwelling or a multi-family residential dwelling not larger than three stories in height.” Clubhouses at multi-family complexes must be wired by Type JA journeymen.

 

 

About the Division

1220 Lincoln Mall, Suite 125
Lincoln, NE 68508
PH: 402.471.3550     -     FX: 402.471.4297
Email: Office Staff
More Info: Staff - Board Members - Division History

  Main Office| Exam Locations

 
 

Licensing Exams

Click on the appropriate license type to go to the examination application form.

>> More licensing exams